What's New?

10/23/18-

It's finally here! Today's release of Maelstrom is the culmination of well over a year of work. While not the end of the story, it will likely be the last of it I'm able to tell for a while, so I sincerely hope that it exceeds all of your expectations. It is my hope that I will be able to return to the series in the near future, but present circumstances may not allow for that.

 

As some of you may already be aware, my wife and I are going through a difficult time at the moment. No need for details here, but suffice to say that our lives will almost certainly be changing dramatically. For me, that means going back to work full-time or focusing almost exclusively on Critical Eye Editing & Publishing in an effort to grow that business into something that can be my primary income source. Either way, I think writing is pretty much off the table for a bit. I'm sad because I have so many more stories to share with all of you, but I know it's something that must be done. I am incredibly grateful to my wife for permitting me the time and resources to pursue this crazy endeavor and dream of mine. I couldn't have done it without her. In fact, I guess that's kind of the point. I can't do it without her. At least not for a while. Hopefully, I'll be able to get settled into a new routine and life soon and will be able to pull out the pen again. Until then, I hope that Chaos and Maelstrom are enough to keep you entertained and yearning for more of the story. And, I do have a YA Fantasy novel that I'm happy to share with any of you who might want a little something to tide you over. I'm not entirely sure yet what I'm going to do with Aurix the Bold, but I'll keep you posted here as time permits. 

In the meantime, I wish you all the best. Keep your loved ones close, and make sure they always know how much they mean to you. Love ferociously, because you never know when you may not have the chance to tell them again when it matters.

I'll check in periodically, I hope you'll do the same.

08/17/18-

'Tis time for an exciting update! The follow up to Chaos is complete and in its final formatting stages. My target date for release is October 23rd, but there's a good chance I may have it ready a little earlier. As those of you who read the first book know, this one is entitled Maelstrom and FBI New-Agent-in-Training Addison Lange is the main protagonist. (Don't worry, Nick and Zorin are central characters too!) I'm pretty happy with how it all turned out, and if you have a look at the WIP page, I'll be posting the cover art there. 

So what's next? Well, the third book in the Chaos series is already underway. It's current working title is The Archive (which gets a brief mention in Maesltrom), but it will almost certainly be published under another title. I'm going to keep that under wraps for the moment, but it's gonna be killer (in more ways than one!). David Xavier and Indra Tandon will rejoin the cast, and even The Garbage Man will make a brief (and utterly disturbing) cameo. What I can't say for sure is whether or not The Archive will be the next book I finish. I'm working on a little something different at the moment, and it will very likely be published under a nom de plume. (Shhh. It's a secret.) There's also another mystery in the works, and I may dust off Sevenfold, a horror novel I started many, many years ago. I honestly have no idea which will win out in the end, but it's sure to be an adventure. At least I was able to put a nice little bow on the cliffhanger in Chaos--I know many of you were distraught by having to wait to find out what happened to Connie Keegan. Sorry, not sorry! My goal was to leave the reader with the same frustration (and hopefully horror) that Nick was enduring as the book came to a close. As anxiously as I know some of you awaited the sequel, I'd say it worked.

In other news, Critical Eye Editing & Publishing is having a terrific year. A big THANK YOU to all of the clients who have placed their trust in me to get their manuscripts ready for their readers. It is a privilege to work with all of you, and I hope to do so again. If you have a need for copy or content editing, proofreading, or need a hand getting your manuscript ready for submission or publication, don't hesitate to reach out to me at criticaleyeediting@gmail.com. I would also be remiss if I failed to thank my lovely wife for her continued support as I build the business and pursue this little writing thing.

For my friends in Minnesota, I'll be in town for the Rain Taxi Book Festival on Saturday, October 13th at the State Fair Grounds. I'll be sharing a table with one of my magnificent clients and, if all goes well, maybe selling some copies of Maelstrom. I hope you'll swing by and say hello if you have the time and patience to endure the scads of bibliophiles there. 

Much love to all of you, and for the love of God, will someone please come and visit?! 

Until next time!

4/3/18

My most sincere apologies for the lack of recent updates. The last several months have been filled with changes, and though you might assume otherwise, I have been busy (just not necessarily in the ways you might be hoping for). As I'd alluded to in my last post, we've since uprooted ourselves from Minnesota and transplanted ourselves in Iowa. A good move for my wife's career perhaps, though it remains to be seen what effect it may have on our sanity over time. Though it can be lovely here in the spring and summer, it's a barren hellscape during the cold months--vast expanses of brown empty fields and brown empty trees as far as the eyes can see. I've lovingly(?) dubbed it Purgatory, though I'm not yet sure if its the incessant winds or the funk of rotting corn stalks after harvest that are supposed to cleanse me of my sins. I'll let you know when I figure it out.

 

After a proper mourning (and redecorating) period, we've achieved acceptance of our new home. Critical Eye Editing & Publishing had a terrific second half of 2017, and that success has continued into 2018. I'm thrilled to have published Minnesota author Laura Kieger's medical memoir, Summer's Complaint: My family's courageous, century-long struggle with a rare genetic cancer syndrome. It's getting terrific reviews, and you should definitely check it out. I also had the pleasure of working with Fig Tree Books on the absolutely superb novel My Mother's Son by David Hirshberg. And do also check out authors Christine Husom and Kristi Belcamino, whom I've also had the privilege of working with recently.

As for my own work, I'm admittedly behind. However, I'm happy to report that I've just completed the first draft of Maelstrom, the follow up to Chaos. Depending on how beta reads and revisions progress, I hope to have it available sometime in the third quarter of 2018. I'll keep you updated. About a month ago, not long after the tragic shooting in Parkland, Florida, I was asked to write an article on the topics of guns and mental health for The Marshall Project, which was subsequently picked up by Vice as well. You can link to them above, or have a look at it in "The Voice of Reason," where I've posted the original version. 

Next on the agenda? Well, I'd like to spend some time with McKenzie Quinn, the primary character in a new series, but I'm also very excited about the fun to be had with WHP Jason Riggs in book 3 of the Chaos series (I'll let you try to figure out what WHP stands for). I guess we'll have to see where the winds of Iowa take me!

Thank you all for your continued support and patience. I know Maelstrom has been a long time coming, but I really hope it's worth the extra wait. In the meantime, be well, and be kind to one another. We could really use a little more of that these days.

6/26/17-

How three months have passed between my last post and now is utterly beyond me. It has been an exciting and eventful time, so I thought I should perhaps update you on all that has transpired. Foremost, Chaos is now available in paperback! You can snag yourself a signed copy here. Print versions are also available at Amazon and can be ordered at virtually any bookstore. The eBook versions are still out there as well for Kindle, Nook, Kobo readers, and on iBooks. Thanks so much to all of you who have supported me on this journey, whether with words of encouragement or by purchasing a copy. This has been an incredible experience, and it has only been made possible because of you! 

For those of you interested in meeting me (or if you'd just like to catch up), I will be doing a reading, discussion, and signing at the Barnes & Noble in Har Mar mall (Roseville, MN) on July 19th at 7:00 PM. It is my first official appearance as an author, so be sure to come and watch me make a complete idiot of myself. 

 

Some bittersweet news... Later this summer or perhaps early fall, my wife and I (and of course, Pogo) will be leaving for the vast (never-ending?) cornwilds of Iowa. This is a terrific opportunity for my wife's career, and I'm extremely excited for her. For me? Well, we'll see. Iowa is supposedly a land of beautiful sunsets and a vibrant writing community, so I am looking forward to those aspects at least. And I like corn, so it really can't be all that bad (Stephen King's Children of the Corn notwithstanding), can it?

And in just a week and a half, a much-needed vacation to Negril, Jamaica is on the agenda. We'd originally planned the trip to celebrate our seventh anniversary in October, but due to the job change it was necessary to pull it up to July. I'm not complaining--it will be a very welcome break from the hectic and harried stresses of moving. Speaking of which, anyone want to buy a house?

I expect my next post to come after we've relocated in a few months. Hopefully I'll have some entertaining stories to share. In the meantime, I hope you all have a spectacular summer and get to spend some quality time with Aleksandr Zorin and Nick Keegan among the pages of Chaos or within The Maelstrom. And if you'd be so kind as to let me know what you think, whether by a review online or via the "Contact Me" button below, that would be terrific! I'm anxious to hear what you have to say. Maybe I'll send a Nick Keegan short along if you take the time.

Ready or not, Iowa, here I come!

3/17/17-

Happy St. Patrick's Day! I'm excited to report that over the past few weeks, Chaos has amassed nearly 1500 new readers! Perhaps more importantly, reviews and ratings are coming in fast and furious, and I'm thrilled to say that people really seem to be enjoying the book. As of today, Goodreads contributors have given Chaos an average of 4.78 stars, and Amazon reviewers have thus far given it 4.7 stars. Feedback has been fantastic. I can't tell you how grateful I am to those of you who've taken the time to read and review, and it's extremely gratifying to hear that you're enjoying it. I hope you'll spend some time perusing The Maelstrom to get to know Aleksandr Zorin a bit better. I'd be shocked if he didn't have some forthcoming surprises (and revelations?) in store for you. 

Still waiting for word from the "Potentially Interested Agents." As anxious as I am to get those print editions of Chaos out to all of you, I want to make sure that I give the book the best opportunity for success, and that unfortunately means holding off for a bit until I receive word. The publishing world requires a great deal of patience. I hope you'll continue to be patient along with me! If any of you are chomping at the bit and don't want to wait, I'll be happy to reduce the cost of your paperback edition by $3 so that you can read now and get your signed physical copy when it's (finally) available. Just let me know that you purchased an e-version and I'll take care of it for you. 

Between editing projects and disastrous attempts at house cleaning (don't ask), I'm staying focused on book two of the Chaos series. It's currently sitting at about 35,000 words, which is probably a bit shy of the halfway mark. I've tucked a few new subplot points in there (and an exciting new character who features prominently in the third book), so it may be a touch longer than its predecessor. Check back periodically for updates, or take a peek at the WIPs page for more info.

Hope you all have a great start to your spring! Stay tuned.

02/09/17-

 

Hello to all! I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to everyone who has picked up and read Chaos to date. If you have an extra few minutes to provide some feedback for me via a review (either on the site where you picked up the eBook, or Goodreads, or both) I would appreciate it greatly. Few things help new authors more than objective reviews, and I honestly value all of the input I receive. A very special "thank you" to Murder Mayhem & More for reading and providing this detailed (and humbling) review of Chaos. I hope you'll take the time to read it and give them a follow or a shout out.

For those of you awaiting the print version of Chaos, I hope you'll forgive the delay. I recently heard back from an agency that I'd long assumed had passed on representing the book, and one of their senior agents is currently taking a look. For that reason, I decided to put the paperback edition on hold until I hear back from them. As soon as I know something, you will! 

Have a wonderful Valentine's Day!

10/20/15-

 

In the event that any of you are checking in here periodically, I thought I should give you a quick update. I just received my editor's feedback on Chaos and am about to embark on a fairly significant revision of said novel. I anticipate spending the majority of November trying to take it apart, rewrite and put it all back together again. I'm hoping to drop in on Zorin again soon. He always has great stories to tell. 

Speaking of... Be on the lookout for a few brand new, and terribly gruesome Zorin blog posts in The Maelstrom. I wasn't sure he could top Natalie, but I think he has outdone himself.

I've recently completed another short horror story, entitled The Anniversary which I hope to have ready for submissions in the coming weeks. Another short, The Garbage Man introduces Nick Keegan, the hero from Chaos. I'm still awaiting some beta reads and feedback on my YA Fantasy, but I may float that one to a few agents and see how it plays.

In other news, my wife and I just returned from vacation in Punta Cana (the Dominican Republic). It was absurdly hot, but we had a great time, and the beach was magnificent. We are, however, very glad for cooler climes, our own bed, and to be back at home with Pogo. There isn't much that can top a dog's unrestrained excitement to see you after a prolonged absence. 


I'll check in with you again soon. Feel free to drop me a message any time!

12/18/16-

It's official! Chaos is now available. You can click that animated box at the top of the page to get your copy from Amazon. If you prefer another digital format, it's already available at most major retailers. If you don't see Chaos at your retailer of choice, let me know and I will get it up as soon as possible. On Friday, I ordered a proof copy of the paperback edition from my distributor. Once verified, I'll have copies on hand, and it will be available for order at most retailers. If you'd like a personalized copy, you can also order it directly from me here.

I have a few confirmed book bloggers taking a look at Chaos in the coming months. I'm excited for the feedback! Here is the first. Thanks to Rachel at the Hibernator's Library for the great review. If you give it a read, I would very much appreciate your honest feedback on the site where you purchased it and on Goodreads. Few things help authors more than legitimate reviews. Thanks in advance! 

I've also been working on a (very) short story featuring Nick Keegan, the hero from the novel, which will appear on Dru's Book Musings at the end of January. It's a little lighter than some of my usual stuff, so if intense thrillers or serial killer blogs aren't your thing, I hope you'll check it out. 

I plan to spend a few weeks doing some marketing for Chaos while working on the final edits of Aurix the Bold. Once that's ready to be seen, I'll be submitting to agents and pubs. Then it's on to completing Maelstrom (book two in the Chaos series). If I'm lucky, I'll have an opportunity to edit a few great books from clients along the way. 

Don't hesitate to drop me a line. I love hearing from readers!

11/29/16-

Lest you think I've been resting on my laurels, allow me to provide an update on my adventures these past several months. First, and perhaps most exciting: The digital version of Chaos will be available for purchase in the coming days on Amazon, iBooks, Nook, and Kobo! I do intend to have print copies available, though that process will take just a bit longer. If you'd like to pre-order a physical copy for your bookshelf, shoot me a message, and I'll be sure to get you a signed paperback edition as soon as they are available. I hope to have them ready for sale sometime in January! 

Also exciting has been the development (and evolution) of "Critical Eye Editing & Publishing" -- my editing (and now publishing) business endeavor. Over the past month or so, I've expanded my offerings to include a variety of publishing services--everything from consulting, formatting print and e-books, ISBN and barcode acquisition under Critical Eye Publishing (*authors can create their own imprint), to printing and distribution via IngramSpark. I'm currently seeking to contract cover artists and proofreaders in order to provide my authors with a one-stop shop for all of their editing and publishing needs. If you wish to join me, or know someone who might be interested, drop me a line.

In case you missed them, I've posted several blog posts to "The Voice of Reason" over these past months. Sadly, much of our recent news seems to suggest that "reason" has largely gone by the wayside, but I refuse to give up hope that rational thought and truth will ultimately prevail. I, for one, will not stand silently by. Count on it.

04/20/16-

 

Today's the day! Creepy Campfire Quarterly Issue 2 (which includes my short story The Nox) is now available! You can pick up your paperback copy through Amazon for just $7.40. The digital Kindle version is only $2.99. The first volume of this did very well, and I anticipate some great stories in this anthology. Grab your copy today!

 

I've also updated The Voice of Reason with a new blog post on North Carolina's controversial bathroom bill

 

I'm currently in the process of setting up an editing business called The Critical Eye. This will be an inexpensive option for people who need someone to look over their written work of any length. From resumes to novels. Keep an eye out for updates! I should be up and running by June 1.

 

And there's a new iron in the fire... Her name is McKenzie Quinn. A new novel with series potential featuring one of the most resilient and capable characters I've ever created. A Sex Crimes detective with the Minneapolis PD, McKenzie finds her world turned upside down in the first five pages of the novel, and has to learn how to manage life (and work) with a disadvantage that most of us couldn't even imagine. I don't want to give too much away, but I'm very excited about the possibilities. Watch the WIP's for more details.

10/20/15-

 

In the event that any of you are checking in here periodically, I thought I should give you a quick update. I just received my editor's feedback on Chaos and am about to embark on a fairly significant revision of said novel. I anticipate spending the majority of November trying to take it apart, rewrite and put it all back together again. I'm hoping to drop in on Zorin again soon. He always has great stories to tell. 

Speaking of... Be on the lookout for a few brand new and terribly gruesome Zorin blog posts in The Maelstrom. I wasn't sure he could top Natalie, but I think he has outdone himself.

I've recently completed another short horror story, entitled The Anniversary which I hope to have ready for submissions in the coming weeks. Another short, The Garbage Man introduces Nick Keegan, the hero from Chaos. I'm still awaiting some beta reads and feedback on my YA Fantasy, but I may float that one to a few agents and see how it plays.

In other news, my wife and I just returned from vacation in Punta Cana (the Dominican Republic). It was absurdly hot, but we had a great time, and the beach was magnificent. We are, however, very glad for cooler climes, our own bed, and to be back at home with Pogo. There isn't much that can top a dog's unrestrained excitement to see you after a prolonged absence. 


I'll check in with you again soon. Feel free to drop me a message any time!

7/25/15-

I am pleased to announce that my short story The Nox has been selected to appear in an upcoming issue of Creepy Campfire Quarterly. As you might have inferred from the magazine's title, this particular piece belongs in the horror genre, and introduces an entirely new addition to the horror monster pantheon. With skin the color of darkness and eyes that shine like molten gold, they come in the night for the dopamine and acetylcholine high that they mine directly from our brains, leaving us stripped of our long term memories and in an Alzheimer's-like dementia. And as if that weren't nightmarish enough, the Nox get to keep our most cherished memories, while they're lost to us forever.

 

I hope you'll support CCQ, (and me, obviously) by picking up a copy come April 2016. (Don't worry, I'll remind you!) In the meantime, you can find updates and more information on their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Creepy-Campfire-Quarterly-CCQ/1580122065546001. Don't forget to show them some love with a "like" and a "share!"

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle

© 2014-2019, Daniel Schuette